Stock Code:00343.HK
资讯中心

Enterprise visit | aiming at the Bay Area Culturecom to activate 200 port comics IP

Issuing time:2021-11-08 12:52

Picture: Guan jiancong, managing director of cultural communication. Photographed by Ta Kung Pao reporter Wen Shu


With the progress of the times, today's urbanites have a wide range of entertainment options. The comics that used to accompany the growth of Hong Kong people have become part of the collective memory. With nearly 200 comic IP (intellectual property rights), cultural Messenger (00343) plans to carry out a large-scale activation project for its IP products. The old IP is expected to be reinvigorated. In line with the "14th five year plan", Hong Kong's cultural status will be written into the national plan for the first time, aiming at the Dawan district market\ Ta Kung Pao reporter Li Jieyi

"The 1970s and 1990s were the best time to inherit Hong Kong's cartoon and film culture." In an exclusive interview with Ta Kung Pao, Guan jiancong, the managing director of cultural communication, pointed out that the success of Hong Kong man and Hong Kong produced films is nothing more than the integration of Chinese and Western cultures, which makes the theme of the works richer.


Cultural messenger sits on popular comics such as "hooligans" (later known as "dragon and Tiger Gate") and "Chinese heroes", which involve multiple characters. Some works take Hong Kong culture as the root and foreign scenes as the deputy as the creative blueprint.


Cultural communication has a long-term cooperative relationship with cartoonist Huang Yulang. In 2000, cultural communication began to authorize Huang Yulang to create the new book dragon and tiger gate until 2020. Guan jiancong revealed that Wenchuan has collected royalties of about HK $70million to HK $80million in the past 20 years. However, the two went to court earlier, and Wen Chuan received a court injunction prohibiting Huang Yulang from publishing "hooligans" and related products without authorization.


Comics of the past added elements of the times


Guan jiancong believes that even the copyright of comics 50 years ago can contain great value. He pointed out that Marvel comics has a history of more than 80 years, but through the activation of the film series, it has accumulated more than US $22.5 billion (about HK $175.5 billion) in box office worldwide. Taking into account derivatives and related business operations, it has driven at least US $100 billion of the industrial chain.


"In the past, in the field of Hong Kong mansions, the characterization of characters was highly personalized, and the cultural heritage became the most unique part of Hong Kong mansions." Guan jiancong believes that traditional paper comics are declining, and it is the most important to inherit an IP. How to make comic IP play better and more suitable for the needs of the times requires adding elements of the times.


Guan jiancong bluntly said that the newly created IP is always less valuable than the old IP. After all, the new IP needs to rely on publicity, investment and other means to let people know, "whether it will be popular later is another matter". He believes that when an IP survives to a certain period of time and is reactivated, the artistic life of the character can continue. "The original IP is a golden hen, which can continuously lay eggs and produce value." Combining the era background, social background and cultural background, superimposing skill creation, originality is more valuable.


Statistics show that the scale of the mainland animation IP industry has exceeded 200billion yuan. Guan jiancong pointed out that the mainland has a good animation production team and technology, but what is lacking is the original IP. If the development of Hong Kong Style comics can adapt to the pace of the times, face the mainland, and fully activate the local cartoon IP that has accumulated for decades, it will derive greater value.

The whole project will take 5 to 10 years


Guan jiancong revealed that cultural messenger has begun to sort out its IP and plans to establish a joint venture with partners to carry out a large-scale activation project for all its martial arts comic IP.


"To activate the Hong Kong man IP, we should not simply authorize or rewrite the story, but re plan all the characters and scenes. For example, only by repositioning the fighting power, appearance and tricks of the protagonist of" Chinese hero ", can we have new ideas." Guan jiancong said that the whole activation project will take 5 to 10 years. He hopes to expand the market of Dawan district and strengthen cultural exchanges between the two places by strengthening the incubation and integration of cartoon and animation IP.


Share to:

股票代码 00343.HK

企业访问 | 瞄准湾区 文传拟活化200港漫画IP

发表时间:2021-11-08 12:52

  图:文化传信董事总经理关健聪。 大公报记者文澔摄

  随着时代进步,现今都市人的娱乐方式选择繁多,昔日陪伴香港人成长的漫画,成为集体回忆的一部分。拥有近200个漫画IP(知识产权)的文化传信(00343),计划为旗下IP产品进行大规模的活化工程,旧有IP可望重新注入活力,配合“十四五”规划,首次将香港的文化地位写进国家规划,瞄准大湾区市场。\大公报记者 李洁仪


  “上世纪70至90年代,是香港漫画和电影文化最好传承的时间点。”文化传信董事总经理关健聪接受《大公报》专访时指出,港漫、港产片的成功,莫过于把中西文化结合,令作品题材变得更为丰富。

  文化传信坐拥《小流氓》(后称为《龙虎门》)、《中华英雄》等脍炙人口的漫画,内容涉及多个角色,有些作品以香港文化为根、外国场景为副,作为创作蓝图。

  文化传信与漫画家黄玉郎有长期合作关系,在2000年,文传开始授权黄玉郎创作《新著龙虎门》,直至2020年结束。关健聪透露,文传在过去的20年间,收取的版税约7000万至8000万港元。不过,两者早前对簿公堂,文传获法庭禁制令,禁止黄玉郎未经授权出版《小流氓》及相关产品。

  昔日漫画加入时代元素

  关健聪认为,即使是50年前的漫画版权,也能蕴藏巨大价值。他指出,美国漫威(Mavel)漫画已有逾80年历史,但透过活化拍成电影系列,至今在全球累积超过225亿美元(约1755亿港元)票房成绩,计及衍生产品及相关业务经营,最少带动千亿美元的产业链。

  “昔日港漫领域,刻画人物个性化较强,文化底蕴成为港漫最独特之处。”关健聪认为,传统纸媒漫画步向式微,要把一个IP传承下去才最考功力,如何让漫画IP发挥得更好、更适合时代需要,需要加入时代元素。

  关健聪直言,新创造的IP始终不及老IP值钱,毕竟新IP需要靠宣传、投资等手法才能让人认识,“之后是否受欢迎,却是另一回事”。他认为,当一个IP生存到某一时段,重新活化,角色的艺术生命才能延续。“原创IP是金母鸡,可以不断生蛋,产生价值。”结合时代背景、社会背景、文化背景,叠加功力创作,原创性更显价值。

  资料显示,内地动漫IP产业规模已突破2000亿元人民币,关健聪指出,内地拥有良好的动漫制作团队和技术,惟缺乏的正是原创IP,倘若港式漫画的发展能够适应时代步伐,面向内地,把沉淀积累数十年的本地漫画IP全面活化,将衍生更大的价值。

  整个工程需时5至10年

  关健聪透露,文化传信已着手整理旗下IP,计划与伙伴组建合资公司,为旗下所有武侠漫画IP进行一次大规模活化工程。

  “要活化港漫IP,并非单纯授权或改写故事,而是把所有人物、场景重新策划。例如《中华英雄》主角华英雄的战斗力、颜值、招数等重新定位,才有新意。”关健聪表示,整个活化工程需时5至10年,期望透过加强漫画与动画IP的孵化与整合,开拓大湾区市场,加强两地文化交流。


分享到: